Handmade · Life

Close Encounters…

I know you have some, probably stashed away in your closet under another stash (maybe of yarn or fabric, scrapbooks?).  I’m talking about UFOs.

Every industry has its own jargon  with abbreviations and short forms known only to those in the industry.  Our own cottage industrialists (I’m including anyone who makes anything by hand, at home) are not to be left behind, we have our own acronyms and jargon too.

When I first came across “UFO” in conversation, I didn’t want to show my ignorance.  I nodded in agreement and tried to figure out what was meant by it, we were definitely not talking about aliens.  I did finally figure it out (and in case you haven’t come across the term in usage) – UnFinished Object.

A blouse awaiting completion.

The acronym has always bothered me though.  I don’t use it when speaking, because I don’t think of my projects as objects.  Maybe I don’t think of my unfinished projects as unfinished, rather “waiting to be finished”…to put a positive spin on it.  Accordingly, that would make them my WTFs – Waiting To-be Finished.  Perhaps not the best shorthand to use in polite society.  Then again, if the society was that polite, they wouldn’t be shocked, rather they’d nod their heads in agreement and try to figure it out too.  I would hope they would come up with the correct meaning?!?!

Still waiting to be jazzed up and quilted.

So what do you name those projects waiting in the wings?  If a project hasn’t been started, can it be considered unfinished?  There could be a basket labeled NOP (next on project), or ARS (attention required soon), the basket labels could be endless.  All we need are enough people using the term to make it the next ‘word’ in projects.

And while you are pondering that…here’s another from the world of knitting to add to your vocabulary.  If your knits and purls are making good garters, but you notice a mistake, you can frog it.  Yup, FROG, as in the green amphibian which hops.  Because, frogs say ribbit, which can sound like rip-it, which you’d do to your knitting if you made a mistake. That’s one shared by sewers and knitters alike, so maybe I’ll  start calling my seam-ripper Kermit!

Simplee

Leave a Reply

